Mourning the passing of a Comrade…

Hi Folks!
Peace!
I mourn the passing of a giant in the present Congress of the Philippines. Ka Crispin Beltran or simply Ka Bel worked not only for the workers and the poor, he was a worker and poor unto the end!

I served with Ka Bel in BAYANn during the Martial Law years and the years immediately after EDSA 1. I saw, heard and touched his ardent passion and devotion to the poor and the workers.  I shared many fora, debates and mass actions with Ka Bel both in BAYAN as well as in the beginning of the Peoples Caucus. 

Ka Bel had always the spark of hope in his Heart and eyes and a smile in his face in facing the harsh realities of a long struggle…

There are people who work for the poor; others who work with the poor; and still others who work not only for the poor and with the poor but has always remained poor!  Ka Bel did…!

I always cherish my work and struggle besides Ka Bel… Yes, he was not fallen by a bullet… but he died as a worker… and the MAN WAS ALL THROUGHOUT HIS LIFE…!

Jun Mercado, OMI

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close